iVend eCommerce - Monthly Maintenance Tasks

What are Maintenance tasks?

Maintenance tasks purge historical data that are no longer valid or not significant in the execution of the site on a routine basis. This allows the system to maintain optimal performance especially when unwarranted or irrelevant data is cleaned automatically in a periodic basis. This is a system maintenance task that is run automatically by the system based on the maintenance parameters configured by the site administrator.

How to configure a Maintenance Task?

  • Log in as an administrator and click on Maintenance >> Monthly Maintenance under the Configuration menu

Note: These tasks can take a while to complete depending upon the purview of maintenance tasks configured. It is recommended that the admin site is not interfered with, after starting the maintenance process by clicking on the 'Go' button.

Once the maintenance tasks are completed, a notification on the site will be posted announcing completion of the configured tasks.

 

 

The description of each maintenance parameter is listed below:

Option Name

Description

Clear all Shopping Carts

This will clear the contents of any saved customer shopping carts older than the age selected.

If you have changed prices on your store or discontinued items, you may wish to do this to ensure that customers do not check out with products/prices they should not get because they added them before they change.

Clear all Wish Lists

This will clear the contents of any saved customer wish lists older than the age selected.

If you have changed prices on your store or discontinued items, you may wish to do this to ensure that customers do not check out with products/prices they should not get because they added them before they change.

Clear all Gift Registries

This will clear the contents of any saved customer gift registries older than the age selected.

If you have changed prices on your store or discontinued items, you may wish to do this to ensure that customers do not check out with products/prices they should not get because they added them before they change.

Erase Credit Cards/eCheck from Order Records

This option will remove the (encrypted) CC information from order records older than the date selected.

This information is generally not required after the initial purchase is made, so storing it presents an unnecessary risk.

Erase SQL Log

If SQL logging is enabled, this option will clear the contents of the SQL Log table, to prevent it from getting too large.

These records are not necessary for the operation of the store; they just provide an audit record if necessary.

Clear Profiles Older than (version 9 ONLY)

This option clears the customer Profile which stores the cookie data and site settings for customers.

Although it is generally safe to delete all Profile data, it is best to retain the last 30 days.

Clear Product Views Older Than

This option clears the customer product views, which are saved for uses such as dynamic related products.

Invalidate All User Logins

If this box is checked when you click Go, all admins and customers will be forced to log into the site on their next visit, even if they had set it to keep them logged in.

Purge Anon Customers

This will clear the records of 'anonymous' customers - customers who performed an action on your site that caused a temporary record to be created for them (added to the cart, chose a locale, etc) but never registered or checked out.

These records are not necessary and clearing them will not hurt the store.

Erase Credit Card/ eCheck info from Address records

If your site is storing credit card numbers, customers who have allowed their information to be stored will have their CC info in their Address records, completely separate from any orders they've placed.

This option will clear that information from your database.

Purge all records that are marked as Deleted

Many of the 'Delete' buttons in the store admin site do not actually permanently remove the selected object (products, customers, etc). Those things are just marked as 'deleted' in the database, and no longer appear in the admin site.

A soft delete ensures that the records can be recovered in the future if necessary. If you wish to permanently remove those records, use this option.

Tune Indexes

This option performs basic maintenance on your database, which can increase site performance.

Save Settings

This option saves your selections on this page, so that you can quickly perform the same tasks next time maintenance needs to be run.

 

Note: If your data is too large for Monthly Maintenance to be run from within the admin console (resulting in time out errors due to long running processes), you will need to run the stored procedure directly on the database (requires database access - check with your server host)

 

Performing a Maintenance Task using the SQL Server Management Console

  • Access the database using SQL Server Management Studio or other valid suitable interfaces
  • Go to Programmability >> Stored Procedures
  • Right-click on aspdnsf_MonthlyMaintenance and choose 'Execute Stored Procedure'
  • Use a value of 1 for YES, or 0 for NO for the tinyint data type items
  • Use the number of days (such as 30) for the smallint data type items for the number of days back to retain
    • A value of -1 will ‘Clear All Regardless of Age’ i.e. delete irrespective of the period,
    • A value of 0 will produce no change.
  • Click OK and wait for the execution to complete
Citixsys Products: iVend eCommerce Citixsys Topics: FAQ
Average (0 Votes)